Lead Director Network

Leading boards in turbulent times for public companies

Most US public companies have appointed an independent, non-executive director to lead the independent board members. Whether called lead or presiding director or non-executive chair, these board leaders play a vital role in strengthening corporate governance. Even where the board has a CEO who is also the chair, the independent lead director is often called to step forward in moments of crisis, such as a hostile takeover attempt or an activist intervention.

The Lead Director Network (LDN) is a group of leading independent directors from America’s most successful companies who share a commitment to improving corporate performance and earning shareholder trust through more effective board leadership. LDN members gather several times each year to candidly and thoughtfully address critical issues confronting their boards and their companies. The network is supported by EY.

Our members include:

  • Frank Blake – Non-Executive Chair, Delta Air Lines
  • Gregory Brenneman – Lead Director, Home Depot
  • Peter Browning – Lead Director, Acuity Brands
  • David Calhoun – Independent Chair, Caterpillar
  • Loren Carroll – Non-Executive Chair, KBR
  • Jaime Chico – Lead Director, Honeywell
  • Sanford Cloud, Jr. – Lead Trustee, Eversource Energy
  • W. Don Cornwell – Lead Director, Avon
  • David Dorman – Non-Executive Chair, CVS Health
  • Noreen Doyle – Lead Director, Credit Suisse Group; Non-Executive Chair, Newmont Mining
  • Paulett Eberhart – Lead Director, Anadarko
  • Curt Espeland – Lead Director, Lincoln Electric
  • Donald Felsinger – Lead Director, Archer Daniels Midland and Northrop Grumman
  • Jim Fogarty – Non-Executive Chair, Assertio Therapeutics
  • Ann Fritz Hackett – Lead Director, Capital One Financial Corporation
  • Glenn Hubbard – Lead Director, MetLife
  • Johnny Johns – Lead Director, Genuine Parts Company
  • Douglas Johnson – Lead Director, Aflac
  • William Johnson – Lead Director, United Parcel Service
  • Edward Kangas – Lead Director, United Technologies
  • Lou Lavigne – Lead Director, Zynga 
  • Steve Leer – Lead Director, Norfolk Southern; Non-Executive Chair, USG 
  • Ellen Marram – Lead Director, Eli Lilly; Lead Director, Ford Motor Company
  • Mike McCarthy – Lead Director, Union Pacific
  • Jay Morse – Lead Director, AES 
  • Bob Murley – Non-Executive Chair, Stericycle
  • Samuel Nunn – Lead Director, The Coca-Cola Company
  • Jack O’Brien – Non-Executive Chair, Cabot; Lead Director, TJX
  • Craig Omtvedt – Non-Executive Chair, Oshkosh Corporation
  • Pam Reeve – Lead Director, American Tower; Non-Executive Chair, Frontier Communications
  • Steven Reinemund – Lead Director, Exxon Mobil
  • Daniel Schulman – Non-Executive Chair, Symantec Corporation
  • Steve Specker – Lead Director, Southern Company
  • Doug Steenland – Non-Executive Chair, AIG and Performance Food Group 
download factsheet about network